The Historic Culcairn Hotel we have been serving the community since 1891. The township of Culcairn was established in 1880 and became the hub for the railway system with rail lines through to Wagga Wagga, Albury, Holbrook and also to Corowa. The original Station Master’s residence, built in 1882, is now a museum featuring the regions rich history. The construction of the Sydney to Melbourne railway saw the town grow significantly.
For its size, Culcairn has a large number of substantial heritage buildings including the Historic Culcairn Hotel, Memorial Hall, Court House, Railway Station and Station Master’s Residence. One of the major landmarks of the town is the Culcairn Hotel. Built in 1891, the original building was extended in 1910 with the addition of an accommodation wing of over 70 rooms, stables, a coach house and extensive gardens. Patrons of the hotel could drive their coach or horse to Culcairn, stable it and catch the train to Sydney or Melbourne.
The hotel boasted the town’s first power supply in 1909. For a long period, the Culcairn Hotel was the largest hotel between Sydney and Melbourne.